Jared Bailey

Jared Bailey

Jared Bailey, Candidate for District 5 Commissioner

Jared Bailey is running to regain the District 5 commission seat in Athens, Georgia, which he held from 2011 to 2018.

Bailey’s website

Signature Issues

During Bailey’s previous two terms on the commission, he was known for supporting environmental and conservation causes.


Bailey served as ACC Commissioner from District 5 from 2011 to 2018, being first elected in 2010. Bailey has an impressive resume, being the founder of both the Flagpole newspaper and AthFest. He also managed the 40 Watt Club for many years.


Bailey went on Tim Bryant’s radio show in March shortly after he announced that he was running for commission:

Bailey also went on WUGA in March:

Political Affiliation

Primary Ballots: Bailey exclusively takes takes Democratic primary ballots.
Donations: Bailey gave $100 to John Barrow (D) in 2018.
Inferred Party: Democrat

Voting Record

Cedar Creek Solar Array Project: YES
Moving Work Sessions to City Hall: YES
Redesigning the Chase Street Corridor: YES
Updating County Anti-Discrimination Policy: YES
Reject Concept Maps for Athens in Motion: NO
Athens in Motion plan: YES
Bike Lanes on Barnett Shoals: absent
Delay Designating SPLOST Projects: NO
(More information about 2018 votes)

Moratorium on Downtown Development: NO
Progress on Bicycle and Pedestrian Master Plan: YES
TSPLOST project list and referendum: YES
Re-zoning Mitchell Street: NO
(More information about 2017 votes)

Apply for ‘Go Transit’ grant funding: YES
Complete Streets Improvements for Chase: YES
Allow Sale of Growlers in Brewpubs: YES
Fare-Free Bus Rides for K-12 Students: YES
Bar Admittance and Civil Rights Committee: NO
(More information about 2016 votes)

Pro-Chicken: YES
FY 2016 Budget: absent
Removing Wetland Buffers: NO
Delay repaving of Chase Street: YES
Adopt Securus Tech Contract: YES
Allow Food Trucks: YES
Keep Domestic Partnership Benefits: YES
(More information about 2015 votes)

Election Results

Tim Denson51.8%
Jared Bailey (incumbent) 24.5%
Danielle Benson – 23.5%

Jared Bailey (incumbent) – 53.6%
Dave Hudgins 46.2%

2010 General Election
Jared Bailey38.8%
Dave Hudgins – 33.0%
Tom Ellis 28.2%

2010 Runoff Election
Jared Bailey53.3%
Dave Hudgins 46.7%

See other candidates running in the 2022 election in the Athens-area here.