2020 Candidates for Athens, GA

Who’s running for office in Athens, GA? What do the candidates stand for? Let’s review the coming local, state and federal elections:

(Qualifying is March 6. 2020 candidates are not official before this date.)

Local Election / State Primary: May 19, 2020

US Senate, seat 1 (Democratic Primary)

Sarah Riggs Amico [candidate] Jon Ossoff [candidate] Teresa Tomlinson [candidate]

US House, District 9 (Democratic Primary)

Devin Pandy [candidate] Dan Wilson [candidate]

US House, District 10 (Democratic Primary)

Tabitha Johnson-Green [candidate] Andrew Ferguson [candidate]

Public Service Commissioner, District 4 (Democratic Primary)

Daniel Blackman [candidate] John Noel [candidate]

Sheriff (Democratic Primary)

Ira Edwards [incumbent] John Q Williams [challenger]

The next Sheriff faces a major challenge surrounding deputy recruitment, retention and morale.

District Attorney (Democratic Primary)

This primary has been cancelled by the sudden resignation of Ken Mauldin. That leaves Brian Patterson as the interim DA of Athens-Clarke and Oconee county and prevents Deborah Gonzalez from making her case for criminal justice reform to voters.

Commission, District 4

Allison Wright [incumbent] Michael Stapor [challenger]

Commission, District 6

Jerry NeSmith [incumbent] Jesse Houle [challenger]

Commission, District 8

Andrea Farnham [candidate] Kamau Hull [candidate] Carol Myers [candidate]

Commission, District 10

Mike Hamby [incumbent] Knowa Johnson [challenger]

Board of Education, District 2

Mary Bagby [candidate] Kirrena Gallagher [candidate]

The Presidential Primary has been rescheduled to May 19 as well.

General Election: Nov 3, 2020


Donald Trump (R)
Democratic nominee

Can you spare $5 right now to help keep APN running?

US Senate, seat 1

David Perdue (R)
Democratic nominee

US Senate, seat 2 (Jungle Primary)

Matt Lieberman (D)
Ed Tarver (D)
Raphael Warnock (D)
Richard Winfield (D)
Kelly Loeffler (R)
Doug Collins (R)

US House, District 9

Republican nominee
Democratic nominee

US House, District 10

Jody Hice (R) [incumbent] Democratic nominee [challenger]


Robert Hare (R)
Democratic nominee

State Senate, District 46

Bill Cowsert (R) [incumbent] Zachary Perry (D) [challenger]

State Senate, District 47

Frank Ginn (R) [incumbent] Dawn Johnson (D) [challenger]

State House, District 117

Houston Gaines (R) [incumbent] Mokah Jasmine-Johnson (D) [challenger]

State House, District 119

Marcus Wiedower (R) [incumbent] Jonathan Wallace (D) [challenger]

Public Service Commission, District 1

Jason Shaw (R) [candidate] Robert Bryant (D) [candidate]

Public Service Commission, District 4

Bubba McDonald (R) [incumbent] Democratic nominee [candidate]